Elemental gas

The only chemical elements that are stable diatomic homonuclear molecules at standard conditions for temperature and pressure are hydrogen (H2), nitrogen (N2), oxygen (O2), and two halogens: fluorine (F2) and chlorine (Cl2). When the pressure is changed and is higher or lower, or when the temperature is changed and is higher or lower, then the element may exist in a different form such as in liquid form or solid form. When grouped together with the monatomic noble gases – helium (He), neon (Ne), argon (Ar), krypton (Kr), xenon (Xe), and radon (Rn) – these gases are called “elemental gases”.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scroll to Top